Life Isn’t Always Rainbows and Orgasms, BUT…

I’ve noticed many newcomers in the rooms hear a lot of the same stuff – life’s amazing, you’ve never dreamed of this, etc. Well, life still happens, shit still hits the fan. The world keeps turning. You get jobs, you lose jobs. You make friends, but you lose them too. Babies are born, but some people die. Life IS amazing, awe-inspiring, and powerful, but that doesn’t mean that it’s always easy.
Today, I have over 2 years clean and sober. I DO have a life I never dreamed of… but I’m going through a rough patch. If it weren’t for the support I get through the rooms, my sponsor, my amazing fiancee, my family, I’d be back on the streets, getting loaded, and dead in a week. Period. That’s what I do, that’s what I know. It’s not normal for me to be sober, to be clean, and recovery takes work and dedication.
So I’m putting myself out there. I’m going to start blogging, something I’ve never done before. A diary, so to speak, without names. A real view into the mind of a dual-diagnosis, LGBT recovering alcoholic/addict and self harmer. Anonymous, raw, and real. So here goes…

Source: Life Isn’t Always Rainbows and Orgasms, BUT…

Leave a Reply

